Every weekend, Steam, Valve’s digital distribution software, has some pretty good sales on games that range from epic to God awful. Last weekend, they featured the two Penny Arcade games, On the Rain Slick Precipice of Darkness. I had played the demo of the first episode back on the Xbox when it first came out and it never interested me. However, at 3$ for both of em, I decided to give them a try and I’m certainly glad I did.

I’ve been enjoying Penny Arcade for years now. Their humor is so witty and clever; they’ve become my favorite web comic of all time. This is why I loved these two games; not only was the gameplay superb, but the entire ten hour experience was filled to the brim with the humor that I’ve grown to love from Penny Arcade. It was like reading hundreds of comic strips in a row while playing a very fun and engaging game at the same time.

Both games are based very heavily on Dungeons and Dragons, because Jerry and Mike, the creators of Penny Arcade, play many variants of D&D. A lot of gameplay aspects are taken strait out of an traditional RPG, while others rely heavily on the point-and-click adventure games. Mind you, this is not your average “point-A to point-B” RPG game. The two episodes are more like the Sam and Max games; just insert real, turn based battles. It’s a mix that works incredibly well, and I am ravenous for more.

The first episode was finished in right under five hours, while the second put me at five and a half. However, I’m not finished with these games. Knowing that their won’t be any more episodes for some time, I am feeling the urge to go back and replay these two games on harder difficulties and finish all the missions that I missed on the first play through.

